Interview With My Dad by Gigi

I chose to interview my dad who grew up in the late 1960’s. My dad’s high school was a combination of two towns Brookfield (lower middle class) and riverside (upper class).   I interviewed him to see how universal The Outsiders is.

Q1. Where did you grow up?

A: I grew up in a suburb of Chicago called Brookfield.

Q2: What was your high school experience like?

A. I liked the change to high school. I was able to do more of what I was interested in.

Q3. What do you remember about cliques and stereotypes in high school?

A. Yes, it was mostly “jocks” the sports players, the theatre kids, and everyone else.

Q4. What type of music did you listen to?

A. Popular top 40 hits.

Q5. What was the fashion like?

A. I was a guy so it was just jeans and t-shirts.

Q6. What was popular clothing like vs. non popular peoples clothing like?

A. I don’t really remember much of that.

Q7. Did the two towns ever mix and the result was bad? Did it ever turn out good?

A. the 2 towns never really mixed

Q8. Were you an outsider?

A. yes

Q9. How were the two towns clothing different

A. i don’t remember much difference

Q10. Was there any interaction between the two towns outside of school?

A. yes there was interaction outside of school. i had friends that lived in Riverside

I think that the book was pretty universal and it could have happened anywhere. My dad’s high school experience was like the books because of the town separation. Like in the book there were was the upper class and lower middle class.

