Parents, you’re not doing your kids any favors by being “cool” by Paige

http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/parenting/wp/2014/11/21/parents-youre-not-doing-your-kids-any-favors-by-being-cool/?tid=sm_fb

Article by: Andrew Reiner

Recently, I just read the article Parents, you’re not doing your kids any favors by being “cool” from Washington Post and the title summed up the whole article. It talked about some parents trying to be “best friends” with their kids and explained how they also want to be hip/cool and what’s new right now. The article overall basically showed parents encouraging bad behavior on their kids, from their own insecurity. Another reason why I think that some parents do that is because they want to understand their kids more and want them to like them, so they can be looked at as a cool parent. They want to be more modern and seem like they are not so old and that’s one way of trying to do it I guess.

From my experience with my parents, they would never try to be my best friend or my friends best friend. In my opinion, my parents are cool in their own way because they act like themselves and that’s why I love them so much and they don’t try too hard to be someone their not. One of the quotes in the article was pretty similar to how my parents are and it says, “cool would have never batted their way” (Andrew Reiner Washington Post). My parents don’t have to be friends with me to understand me or get with the new trends. In reality, most parents would like to see kids looking up to them and trying to be like them by choice.

When I think about this whole thing, this is completely opposite from my life and I’m not sure if this is supposed to be a wake-up call for some people. I am actually glad I read this article and I hope more people (specifically parents) should read it and realize that if they just act like themselves maybe kids will like you even more and want to be more like their parents. If this ever happened to me one day, I would tell my parents to read it and talk to them about it. Parents may want to get with the new trends and say the things kids say, but I suggest they just leave it alone and just act like the parents they are.

This article is by Andrew Reiner.

8 thoughts on “Parents, you’re not doing your kids any favors by being “cool” by Paige

  1. Paige, this was very well thought out. Your opinion is different than anyone else’s that I have read. You do a really good job of explaining why you feel the way you do. Awesome job!

    Like

  2. I completely agree with you. Parents should never try to be a certain way, especially for their kids. They should be themselves so that their kids will look up to them. Great job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

